In an aging society diagnostics and therapy of neuodegenerative diseases are of increacing relevance. Mediagnost participates in several research projects to improve the diagnostics of these diseases.

Currently Mediagnost offers test systems for the quantitative measurement of Progranulin (E103) and Monoaminooxidase B (E101) for research usee. Progranulin exerts influence on several physiological processes, a genetically caused partial Progranulin deficiency leads to fronto temporal dementia and a complete Progranulin deficieny results in neuronal ceroid lipofuscinoses. Besides the neurophysiological relevance, Progranulin also influences inflammatory processes and is part of the regulation of the energy metabolism (Type 2 Diabetes / obesity).

The Monoaminooxidase is involved in different oxidative processes and is of relevance in therapy of Parkionsons Disease and depression. Further, monoaminooxidase is also involved in other psychiatric diseases like personality disorders and drug abuse.  The Mediagnost test for quantiative detection of  MAO-B is currently under validation and will be available in December 2017.

Mediagnost also offers specific antibodies for the detection of ethanol degradation production like Phosphatidylethanol and Ethyl glucoronid, which are of interest for analysis of alcohol metabolism and alcohol abuse.

In einer alternden Gesellschaft gewinnen Diagnostik und Therapie von neurodegenerative Erkrankungen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Mediagnost ist an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten zur Verbesserung der Diagnostik dieser Erkrankungen beteiligt.

Im Rahmen des bestehenden Produktportfolios finden insbesondere die Testsysteme zum quantitativen Nachweis von Progranulin (E103) und Monoaminooxidase B (E101) Anwendung im Bereich der neurologischen Forschung. Progranulin beeinflusst eine Reihe von physiologischen Prozessen so führt ein genetische bedingter Progranulinmangel zu frontotemporaler Demzenz und ein vollständige Defizienz zu neuronalen Ceroid-Lipofuzinosen. Neben der neurophysiologischen Bedeutung beeinflusst Progranulin auch inflammatorische Prozesse und weist eine Verbindung zum Energiestoffwechsel (Typ 2 Diabetes / Adipositas) auf.

Die Monoaminooxidase ist an verschiedenen oxidativen Prozessen beteiligt und spielt beispielsweise ein Rolle in der Therapie des Morbus Parkinson oder der Therapie von Depressionen. Aber die Monoaminooxidasen sind auch im Hinblick auf Persönlichkeitsstörungen und Drogenmissbrauch von Bedeutung. Der Assay zum quantiativen Nachweis von MAO-B befindet sich in der Validierung und steht vorraussichtlich Ende 2017 zur Verfügung.

Im Hinblick auf die Diagnostik des Alkoholmissbrauchs bietet Mediagnost spezifische Antikörper zur Detektion von Ethanol-Abbauprodukten wie Phosphatidylethanol sowie Ethyl glucoronid.